I is for Insomnia

canstock10163804

noun
– habitual sleeplessness; inability to sleep.

This may seem like an odd title for a blog post, particularly as, as far as sleep goes, we’re an odd pairing, with one long term insomniac and the other with a tendency towards hypersomnia in winter. But on this occasion, we’re actually referring to the insomnia which can be caused by the brain of the writer. We have both been known on occasions; over the last few years; to say that until a section is finished, or because of how we choose to work, a comment answered, the characters in question will not ‘let’ us sleep.

A tip writers are often given to keep the creativity from stalling, is to leave an open end. Maybe this could be a character asking a critical (or not so much, depending) question to another, or you’ve just left it in the middle of the ‘action’. Herein lies the problem for us. Nine times out of ten our characters will not be happy with this. How dare we leave it there and go to sleep (or to read or just rest in the chronic insomniac’s case). We’re supposed to be telling their stories and if they want to know the answer to their question or to find out if they’re going to live to see another day after the current bit of conflict… boy do they let us know about it sometimes. We both have phones with access to the internet, so we have been known on these character-induced-insomnia moments to fire the net up and write an answer just to shut them up.

This may seem crazy to some, but we can imagine there is going to be more than one person reading this blog who might well be thinking ‘thank god it’s not just me’. …Right?

3 thoughts on “I is for Insomnia

  1. Right.
    Oh – you want more than that?
    Four in the morning is the time my characters wake me up. Not every night, but when that eyes-wide-open and mind-buzzing moment hits, I know the only way to get back to sleep is to write the bugger out of my system.

  2. It’s so true! They bug me as soon as my head hits the pillow. I just hadn’t thought that maybe they aren’t happy with where I left off. I just wish they would come around and tell me where their story needs to go BEFORE I try to sleep.

    Konstanz Silverbow
    nothoughts2small.blogspot.com
    A-to-Z April Blogging Challenge Co-host
    http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com

Leave a Reply

