Q is for Queen and Quark

Q

[Loz]

I am the Queen of England.
[they all kneel]
Queen Elizabeth: I may have the body of a weak and feeble woman. But I have the heart and stomach of a concrete elephant.
Simon Partridge: Prove it!
Queen Elizabeth: [playfully] Certainly will.
[picks up a large mug of beer]
Queen Elizabeth: First I’m going to have a little drinkie, and then I’m going to execute the whole bally lot of you.

OK, I know the Queen might be seen as pretty lazy, but I can’t think of anyone else for Q. I was going to write about Regina the Evil Queen from Once Upon A Time, but I realise we have far more real ones to write about.

I had initially thought I wouldn’t write about real people in the blog, however I have decided to write about Elizabeth I, as she is so heavily and widely represented in TV, film and literature. I also have to start with one of my favourite versions of Lizzie Dumpling. The Blackadder version.

History represents Elizabeth I as strong and competent, willing to kill family and lovers, to raise armies and execute dissenters if needed to hold her heavily contested position, the ultimate woman in a man’s world.

Blackadder’s Elizabeth is a joy to watch, she is always a spoilt little girl, kicking and screaming to get what she wants without a thought to the consequences for others, or even glorifying in it. She expects to be loved, whatever she does or to whom, and is a flip flopper on states of minds that can directly affect the lives of everyone around her.

There are of course the other versions, the Oscar winning one’s Cate Blanchett in the two Elizabeth films and Judi Dench in Shakespeare In Love are the more expected versions of the Virgin Queen, angry and severe, taking lovers and serving only herself. I should imagine that in holding it together for as long as she did, with a face full of arsenic and a tiny corset, the woman would need to have some fun sometimes, so I would really like to think that she was a mixture of Lizzie Dumpling and The Virgin Queen (Side note: There is no actual evidence that Shakespeare and Elizabeth I ever actually met in real life)

[Mich]

Every once in a while, declare peace. It confuses the hell out of your enemies.

The first of the harder letters for today, but my Q is Quark from ‘Star Trek: Deep Space Nine’.

A Ferengi who owned his own bar on the space station ‘Deep Space 9’, Quark – usually along with his brother, Rom – was primarily used as comic relief for the series.

Always looking to dip into numerous shady ventures or to make quick, easy money, Quark was a constant thorn in the side of the station’s Security Chief, Odo, who would relish any opportunity to thwart whatever scam Quark was in on at the time. However, despite being adversaries most of the time, where Odo would let Quark off, Quark would provide tip-offs and intel.

Unlike his family, Quark loathed the Federation and was a firm believer in Ferengi culture. Despite this however, by Ferengi standards, Quark was a compassionate and generous man. Throughout the series he rebukes friendship and his own conscience but gradually, with the help of others on the station, he learnt the nature and value of both.

Leave a Reply

