T is for Temperance Brennan and Tyrion Lannister

T

[Loz]

Dr. Temperance ‘Bones’ Brennan: Well, anthropologically speaking, paramilitaristic organizations tend to constrain individuality.
Special Agent Seeley Booth: That’s for sure.
Dr. Temperance ‘Bones’ Brennan: But in any group, no matter how restrictive, the free thinkers, the mavericks, the rebels with leadership qualities find a way to declare their distinctiveness.

I’d smelled my moonshine sweetheart and seen his light in the eyes around me. I’d loved it once. Hell, I loved it still. But the enchantment would destruct. For me, any trifling dalliance and the affair would consume and overpower. So I’d walked away from it, with twelve slow steps. And I had stayed away. Having been lovers, we could never be friends. Tonight we’d almost been thrown into each other’s arms.
― Kathy Reichs, Déjà Dead

The quotes above are a prime example, these are supposedly the same two characters speaking.

I am using the character of Temperance Brennan to talk about adaptation. I’d watched a lot of the TV show ‘Bones’. I liked the structure of the show and most of the characters, but Bones herself was my least favourite, she lacked any real charisma or joy. She was essentially an info dump on legs, and while she has softened over the seasons, I fail to see what makes her such a draw to others outside her massive academic qualifications, and her external beauty. How she manages to be so innately lovable is beyond me.

Then we move on to the novels, I love Tempe Brennan, she’s strong, snarky, not afraid to stand her ground, she’s loving, hard working and smart without ramming it down people’s throat. She’s also flawed. A good fifteen years older (to my estimate, age is never mentioned but she has a grown up daughter) and has a lot of life experience behind her. She entered grad school when she was married, a relationship which has since broken down and continues to battle against booze as a recovering alcoholic.

She has a turbulent, loving relationship with her little sister Harry and is surrogate mother to her nephew Kit. It is Andrew Ryan with whom things get really complicated, and while I’m only three books in, I can’t wait to see where it goes.

[Mich]

My brother has his sword, King Robert has his warhammer and I have my mind…and a mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone if it is to keep its edge. That’s why I read so much Jon Snow.

I’m also using my character choice today to talk about adaptation. However, in contrast to the above, Tyrion Lannister seems to have climbed right out of the books and started talking on my TV screen. Peter Dinklage plays Tyrion so close to how I imagined him and delivers dialogue straight from the book that sound so exact to the character that it can make me grin.

Tyrion Lannister, youngest son of Tywin Lannister and brother to twins Cersei and Jaime, is a dwarf but what he lacks in stature and brawn, he by far makes up for with attitude and brains. Tyrion is introduced as one of the Queen’s brothers, who likes whores, drink and books.

At first he seems to only be there for comic relief or to contradict some of the ‘nastiness’ of the Lannister family. But on his way from from visiting the Wall, he is taken prisoner by Catelyn Stark who believes he was behind the attempted murder of one of her sons. The resulted ‘trial by combat’ results in Tyrion gaining his freedom and a friend, Bronn, the sellsword who fought for him. But it’s when Tyrion is made ‘Hand of the King’ in his father’s stead, that he truly comes into his own and shows that he is a strong character, an intelligent leader who could possibly bring great things to the Seven Kingdoms of Westeros.

Though, this is George R.R. Martin we are talking about, so of course, when poor Tyrion is on top, he is brought drastically back down and eventually loses everything. Now, if George could just finish the last two books, all us Tyrion fans can find out if he survives (like we reeeally want him to) and if certain theories are true.

One thought on “T is for Temperance Brennan and Tyrion Lannister

Leave a Reply

