Our Favourite Writers – Part 2: M’s

20180122_134834Part two, of the ‘Favourite Writers’ and it’s my (M’s) turn.

Like L wrote last week, favourites are hard. But before I think too much I always go with J.R.R. Tolkien. 

I read ‘The Lord of the Rings’ before I was ten and it fuelled my thirst for fantasy and other realms. While I like epic fantasy because of it, I also love folklore and mythology. Norse and Arthurian especially.

Other favourite fantasy authors include: Robin Hobb – I fell in love with her stories about Fitz and the Fool after picking up the Farseer Trilogy on the whim; Ben Aaronovitch – L bought me the first of the Rivers of London series for my birthday and she is entirely to blame for getting me hooked. I also do like R.A. Salvatore – Forgotten Realms specifically, not just book form but also computer games.

Growing up I read through every Roald Dahl and Enid Blyton book at my local library and then was introduced to ‘Call of the Wild’ and ‘White Fang’ by Jack London by the librarian after I “ran out” of books in the Children’s’ Library. This would then lead to me finding another favourite author and series, the ‘Run with the Wind’ or ‘Fox’ series by Tom McCaughren – I still love these books, while they are considered children’s fiction they don’t hold back with acts of animal cruelty and bloodsports.

Other authors who wrote animal stories I consider favourites would be Colin Dunn (‘Animals of Farthing Wood’) and Richard Adams (‘Watership Down’).

When it comes to Sci-Fi, I find it hard to pick a favourite because I like and own a wind range. However, like Tolkien, I will always mention H.G. Wells. The War of the Worlds and Time Machine are still two books I could read over and over, and I find the man himself quite fascinating.

Like, L, I read a variety of books and other favourites dip in and out depending on when you ask me. One last person I will mention, comes from my non-fiction collection, and that is Sir David Attenborough because, come on, it’s David Attenborough.

Leave a comment